The Fluval Edge Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Another newbie here a couple of questions pls help!

3 posters

Go down

Another newbie here a couple of questions pls help! Empty Another newbie here a couple of questions pls help!

Post  pichur25 Thu Dec 29, 2011 8:21 am

Hi everyone, just recieved my fluval edge in pewter from santa/wife unfortunatly the top of the tank was badly cracked but seapets are sending a replacement tank and have asked me to dispose of the cracked one. I believe the top will come off quite easily so i guess il kinda have a spare tank to do what with im not sure yet. Gonna do a fishless cycle 1st. Anyway my questions are as follows. 1. Can u mix a sand and grave substrate? ie gravel either side of the tank and sand in the middle of the edge below the lighting area for a couple of live plants? Does anyone have a small airpump working in their edge, is it pratical or needed?

pichur25
Guppy

Back to top Go down

Another newbie here a couple of questions pls help! Empty Re: Another newbie here a couple of questions pls help!

Post  MrGator Thu Dec 29, 2011 8:27 am

Hi pichur,

I'd be wary about using the cracked edge with the top removed - these are not built as braceless tanks and the top glass acts as support.

There is nothing that says you can't mix the sand and the gravel, but be careful not to have the sand layer too deep, say 2.5-3cm max.

In my 23l edge I had an airstone going, but they're not needed as the HOB filter does an excellent job of oxygenating the water in the tank.

Look forward to seeing your edge!
MrGator
MrGator
Angelfish

http://www.fluvaledgeforum.co.uk

Back to top Go down

Another newbie here a couple of questions pls help! Empty Re: Another newbie here a couple of questions pls help!

Post  pichur25 Thu Dec 29, 2011 8:37 am