The Fluval Edge Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

Fluval Edge 46L community planted tank...

2 posters

Go down

Fluval Edge 46L community planted tank... Empty Fluval Edge 46L community planted tank...

Post  pcsansbury Tue Aug 14, 2012 3:23 pm

So, I wanted to share my experience of working with the new Edge tank.

Please excuse the long intro but some of you (may!!) want to know what Ive been through to get to this point!!

I'm not an Edge Newbie (I set up a 23L about 3 years ago with pretty nasty blue gravel and plastic plants! but that didn't last very long at all before something went horribly wrong and my fish contracted TB) that tank was emptied after all the fatalities, I setup another 23L (2nd tank!! IT'S AN ADDICTION!) simple setup with sand and natural gravel, cheap stem plants and lots of re-work until I managed to settle it down!
Once the disease riddled 23L tank had been stripped, sterilised and washed repeatedly; I was ready to rebuild so I went for as natural a look as possible with ADA Aqua Soil (powder) bits of wood, moss and various crypts and other plants etc, etc. some modding with the lighting involved me ripping out the hood and lighting unit entirely in order to use an EBAY T5 unit from Boyu which is immense and I'm successfully growing Glosso and tons of reeds, Java fern and an abundance of randoms!! the tank isn't clean and defined enough for me to post images on here but it's a lovely home for a group of very shy pygmy corys, some venezuelan Black corys, a female fighter and a borneo sucker fish!

SO onto the reason you're even visiting my wordy blog (sorry again, my wife often mocks my waffling!!!)