The Fluval Edge Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

23L Nano Marine

3 posters

Go down

23L Nano Marine Empty 23L Nano Marine

Post  Closer to the Edge Sun Apr 07, 2013 1:10 am

Thought I would share a few pics of my Marine edge.......

Fluval Sea Nano LED upgrade
Fluval Sea CP1 Pump
Live Rock
Metalic Green Star Polyps
Blue Mushrooms
Green Zoas
Pulsing Xenia
2 Feather dusters
2 Tangerine Clowns (with Nem)
1 Neon goby
1 Fire shrimp

23L Nano Marine 547797_10151535660693794_1413685879_n

23L Nano Marine 525383_10151535660758794_826542007_n

Hope you like cheers

Cheers Tim

Closer to the Edge
Guppy

Back to top Go down

23L Nano Marine Empty Re: 23L Nano Marine

Post  rickO2 Mon Apr 15, 2013 8:16 am

Great pics and a really good looking layout. I've no experience of marine but do have a 23L freshwater Edge...so maybe one day it could go marine?

What's the maintenance like eg water changes, feeding, water quality etc?

Thanks,

Rick.

rickO2
rickO2
Angelfish

Back to top Go down

Post  Closer to the Edge Mon Apr 15, 2013 10:20 am

Thanks

It's surprisingly easy to setup and maintain. Find yourself a good LFS who sells RO and Salt water first then get yourself some water containers, I've got a 20ltr one for the salt water and 5ltr for the RO.

As the water evaporates top up with RO water (as salt doesn't evaporate) to keep the specific gravity (SG) (salinity) stable. I do weekly 10% water changes with the ready made salt water. You don't need to add anything else as using a decent salt water mix replenishes any minerals etc used up in the tank. Using a hydrometer or a refractometer is the best way to measure the salt water's SG.