The Fluval Edge Forum
Would you like to react to this message? Create an account in a few clicks or log in to continue.

LED lights sufficient for live plants?

3 posters

Go down

LED lights sufficient for live plants? Empty LED lights sufficient for live plants?

Post  38lynette Sun Jan 08, 2012 5:52 pm

Hi all
I am a newbie here and have had my Edge for just over 3 months. A few disasters, but a lot of enjoyment has been derived from it. My question is regarding the LED Edge replacement bulbs which are a lot brighter than the original halogen bulbs, but I need to know if they are good enough for the growth of my plants. The plants are not doing terribly well, although not dead, but very brown and it has been suggested to me that the LED's may not be effective for their healthy growth. I have the lights on for at least 6 -8 hrs a day, and today I added plant food whilst doing my 25% weekly water exchange. Hope that will be ok and do the trick. I would appreciate any feedback......please. bounce

I have One guppy, one platy, two balloon mollies and two leopard danios.... the disasters I encountered were due to the tank being overstocked.(hindsight a wonderful thing)..
Lynette

38lynette
Guppy

Back to top Go down

LED lights sufficient for live plants? Empty Re: LED lights sufficient for live plants?

Post  rickO2 Tue Jan 10, 2012 5:39 am

Hi Lynette,

I've had an Edge since June. It's now planted up with Java Ferns, Anubias and Moss Balls. It hold 5x Galaxy Rasbora, 6x Mosquito Rasbora and 3x Cherry Shrimp.

I do a water change once a week (1x bucket, which I guess is about 8 litres)

In September I replaced the very hot halogen lights with the cool running Fluval LED ones (see this thread ... https://fluvaledge.forumotion.com/t43-lighting-unit-not-working#196). Before and After images are here .... https://i.servimg.com/u/f49/16/79/84/93/edge-h11.jpg and here .... https://i.servimg.com/u/f49/16/79/84/93/edge-l12.jpg